Minnesota law requires all drivers and owners to have insurance on their vehicles. Sadly, some people choose not to follow this law. In fact, about 12% of all drivers in Minnesota do not have car insurance. And many more drivers do not carry enough insurance.
If you are injured by an uninsured driver, how will you get compensation for the harm caused you? Fortunately, when you purchase insurance for your vehicles, you automatically receive uninsured and underinsured coverage. That means if the at fault driver does not have insurance, you can receive compensation from your own automobile policy.
When a victim is seriously injured in an automobile accident, sometimes the at fault driver does not have enough insurance to fully take care of the medical bills and harm done.
For example, you are in a crash and have $80,000 in medical bills. Furthermore, the doctor both restricts you from going to work and recommends future care. However, the at fault driver only has $30,000 in coverage. Clearly, there is not enough to cover all of the harm done. Not only do you have $50,000 in unpaid medical bills, you also have lost wages. You need to turn to underinsured coverage.
How We can Help
If you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you can ask for compensation through your automobile insurance. You are entitled to payment of your medical bills, wage loss and impairment on future ability to work as a result of the injuries.
You need to know your legal rights to receive all the compensation you are entitled to. Contact the Paige Donnelly law firm. We will promptly respond to your questions and are willing to visit you at the hospital or in your home. Our lawyers will lead you through the insurance policy maze, and fight for you to get the compensation you deserve.
* All fields required.
Click here to see how our attorneys have helped others.